Just Enough

I flipped through a children’s devotional book looking for my own encouraging word and a specific title caught my eye, “Peace for Today.”  I immediately remembered an illustration someone shared with our group at a church growth conference.  The leader shared a story about his daughter who was caught driving at night in thick fog on a winding mountain road.  With great fear she called her father and asked for his guidance.  The father asked, “how far can you see?”  The girl responded in despair, “I can only see about 75 feet in front of me.”  “OK,” the father answered, “go that 75 feet and when that 75 feet is up you will have 75 more feet and after that 75 feet, you should have 75 more.”  I remind myself of that story quite often when things get overwhelming.  “Just go the first 75 feet.”

The devotional article, “Peace for Today” is similar.  It reminds us about Moses and the Israelites in the dessert and how God provided enough manna just for that day.  They were not to store it up, but each day enough manna was provided for that day. That is how it is with God’s peace.  He wants to provide us with just enough peace for today.  Tomorrow he wants you to need it again, to need him again. 

This is a different and challenging time for us.  I was also reminded that it is mental health awareness month.  Words like anxiety, depression, darkness, loneliness, overwhelmed, stress and worry are words that surface when we talk about mental health and during challenging moments.  May God’s peace be just enough for us in those moments.  May God’s peace fill us with comfort.  May we seek his peace each day and know that he can cover us with just enough peace to get through the first 75 feet.

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.  — John 14:27

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started